Workers in California See New Laws for Labor and Employment for 2020
Californians are starting 2020 with a new set of laws in for the workplace. Many of the new rules dramatically change pay, the status of contract workers and more, so it is important that all Californians are familiar with what’s new when it comes to employment. Here’s the rundown:
AB 5 – Independent workers, freelancers and contract workers are now considered employees, which means they are entitled to benefits, unemployment insurance and disability insurance. While some argue the new law gives all employees more job rights and stable working environments, the reclassification of independent workers has caused outrage since it became law. The new law has sparked lawsuits from Uber and the California Trucking Association, reports news station ABC 7. Individuals employed in the “gig economy” or work freelance jobs independently must now be considered employees of whoever they do work for. Many say they are losing income because the companies they do work for are now considered their employer, and part of their paycheck has to go toward paying benefits.
SB 3 – Minimum wage for workers employed at a business with 25 employees or less will now be paid $12 an hour. Businesses with 26 or more employees are required to pay their workers a minimum of $13 an hour. The minimum wage for workers at all California businesses will be $15 an hour by Jan. 1, 2023, no matter how many employees work at the business.
SB 188 – Workplaces and schools are no longer allowed to discriminate workers and students based on their hairstyle and textures, including braids, twists, locks and afros. The law allows people of color to wear their hair naturally or in different styles that schools and employers may have prohibited before SB 188 was passed.
SB 142 – This law mandates employers – including state agencies and political subdivisions – must provide a reasonable amount of break time for employees to breastfeed children. The law is designed to allow mothers a designated amount of time during a workday to breastfeed children.
SB 83 – This law increases paid family leave from six weeks to eight weeks starting on July 1, 2020.
If you are unsure how California’s new employment and workplace laws affect you, or feel that your employer is violating these laws, contact Yarian & Associates, APC at (844)210-4067 5915 or visit us at Yarianlaw.com. Our firm represents employees in a variety of cases involving employment law including hostile work environments, gender discrimination and wage violations. We have multiple locations in the Greater Los Angeles area and can help Spanish-speaking clients.