New Wage and Hour Laws
Individuals often fail to have an understanding of the wage and hour laws in the workplace when they come across a problem with their hours and pay. Every workplace is different, however there are certain laws in place that every employer and workplace have to follow in order to be considered legal and valid. If you are having an issue with your employer and want to make sure that you are not being cheated out of your fair wages, it is best to contact an employment attorney to discuss your options.
Glendale Attorney for Wage and Hour Laws
If you are not getting paid the minimum wage in California or work over 40 hours in a week and are not get paid overtime, you might have a valid claim against your employer. Other wage and hour violations include, not punching in and out even though you are on the job. Maybe you are traveling for work and not getting paid for travel time or set up time. These all constitute wage and hour violations and it may be worth consulting with an employment lawyer to see what legal options you may have. At Yarian & Associates, APC, we work with employees who may have dealt with faulty work agreements or negligent bosses who are in violation of state and federal regulations.
Our attorneys at Yarian & Associates, APC fight aggressively for your rights. We work with clients in the counties of Los Angeles and Tulare. Contact us at (844) 291-1911 for a confidential consultation or fill out a free case review to get started.
Overview of Wage and Hours
- Understanding Wage and Hours in Workplace
- New Wage and Hour Laws in 2020
- What to do when an Employer doesn’t Follow Wage and Hour Laws?
- Additional Resources
Understanding Wage and Hour Laws in Workplace
Wage— A wage is the fixed rate of money paid on a regular basis to an employee.
Hour— The amount of time by which a worker’s labor is being counted towards his or her wage.
Usually wage and hour go in hand in hand when considering how much a worker is getting paid or will be paid. Wage and hour laws are more directed at hourly workers, as opposed to salary workers, in which their pay rate is carefully calculated by the amount of labor done within a certain amount of time.
New Wage and Hour Laws in 2020
- (SB 3) Minimum Wage — Minimum Wage Laws in California were update as of January 1, 2020. The minimum wage set forth for employers with 25 employees or less is $12.00 per hour, while the minimum wage for employers with 26 employees or more is $13.00 per hour. There is no distinction made between workers who earn tips as part of their job (i.e., waitperson, valet, pizza delivery, bartender). Every employer is required this pay as stated by law. However, the exceptions to the wage include interns, who have may not have previous experience in the industry, family business employees, salespersons based on commission, or apprentices. Other employees such as those mentally or physically disabled may also have a difference in wage requirements.
- (SB 3) Minimum Wage Increases – As part of the 2015-2016 legislature, wage increases will be coming yearly all through 2023.
- (AB 673) Recovering Penalties for Late Payments – Employers may be subject to late payment charges if employees are not paid on time according to legislature sections dictating the timeline of payment. Such penalties include $100 for an initial payment violation failure and $200 for any violation following, including up to 25% of the amount not paid.
- (SB 688) Breach of Contract for Wages – This is pursuant to employers failing to pay minimum wage requirements and wages stated in employment contracts. Such employers are subject to citations, penalties, and liquidated damages.
*Note: Employers are subject to local minimum wage requirements which may potentially be higher than state minimum wage requirements laws.
Filing a Wage Claim
Most workplaces have a set person who is in charge of employee’s pay and schedule such as a human resources (HR) administrator. If you have concerns regarding a problem with your paycheck, your company may have specific guidelines to contact the administrator or HR to give them a chance to settle the issue within the company. However, when the employer or company is non responsive, it may be worth contacting an employment lawyer to see what legal options you have available.
Do note that you have to file a wage claim within the statute of limitations timeline according to California state law.
California Labor & Workforce Development Agency (LWDA) – The California Labor & Workforce Development Agency (LWDA) is in charge of governing the entire workforce of California. You can find employer and worker guidance and regulations in line with the current workforce conditions. In this page, you can file for unpaid wages, search for jobs, and file for unemployment benefits or paid family leave benefits.
State of California | Department of Industrial Relations – The Department of Industrial Relations Labor Commissioner’s Office provides in dept regarding the current workforce status in California. Additionally, they provide resources for employees such as tips for first-time employees, list of worker’s rights, and claims or complaints. You can visit the page for up to date California workforce regulations, such as new wage and hour laws.
Lawyer for Wage and Hour Laws in Los Angeles County, CA
If you are having issues with your employer regarding wage and hours violations, contact our attorneys at Yarian & Associates, APC for a free confidential consultation.
At Yarian & Associates, APC we are experienced litigators who will fight for our client’s rights. We work with clients in the cities of Glendale, Visalia, Pasadena, Long Beach, Riverside, and throughout California. Fill out a free case review to get started or call us for a free confidential consultation at (844) 291-1911.